Black History for Toddlers

We’re nearing the end of February, and I wanted to talk about how we’re celebrating Black History Month in our home. I’ll be honest and say it’s not always simple to carve out time to plan and prep for holidays with a toddler, but we figured this month deserved the extra attention. In Spain, commercial holidays like Valentine’s Day and Halloween have become more common due to television and the Internet, but an entire month celebrating blackness doesn’t transfer as easily. As a mother and woman of color in a predominantly white country, it feels even more important to talk about race, identity, and “otherness” with my family.

My twenty two month old has varying interests and a short attention span, but these days she’s head over heels for books again. I decided to take advantage of this new (old) love of hers and purchase two books to support black authors and diversify our collection even more. Representation matters. It is crucial that all children see themselves in a positive light, beyond stereotypes and biases. When I read to my baby, she sees herself as the protagonist, the hero, the adventurer. She’s dynamic and detailed; her story matters and it gets to be told. For now, and until she’s old enough, we want to focus on positive portrayals of Black history by way of art and science.

This month, Please, Baby, Please by Spike Lee and Tonya Lewis Lee and Bell Hooks’ Happy to Be Nappy have been on repeat in our house. My toddler has asked to read them over and over and with good reason. Please, Baby, Please is funny and entertaining and every time we pick it up, my girl says, “ It’s baby Naia!”, because the main character looks and acts like her. That’s the point, isn’t it? Happy to Be Nappy is an ode to Black hair and its versatility, and Chris Raschka’s illustrations are a true gem. We’ve also revisited old goodies like Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to My Daughters by Barack Obama, A Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats, and the “Pequeña & Grande” book on Ella Fitzgerald with her music playing in the background. Nina Simone and her song “Revolution” have brought up all the feels and even started a few dances parties as of late. To listen to it and other great tunes follow “Black History Salute” on Spotify.

Black history is rich and compelling and it deserves to be told. It is not always gruesome and scary or a topic reserved solely for adults. Children are the future and it’s important that we include them in these important topics in an age appropriate way. I would love to hear about how you all talk about diversity in your homes. Please comment below to share any suggestions you may have! 

 

Author: acrunchystart

Hi, I'm Megan, an American living and working in southern Spain. I live with my partner and our two year old toddler. We're committed to doing what we can to make the world a better place for everyone.

Leave a comment